A POV Tour of South Pole Station

For those of you that were curious as to what the guts of the Amundsen Scott South Pole Station look like, here is how I see it.

P1020968

Where I sleep. Or try to with sunlight streaming in my window 24/7.

P1020979

Where I launder my unmentionables… smells less like Chinese take out than Washland in Hell’s Kitchen, NY.

P1020978

Where I work 10 hours a day, 6 days a week.

P1020977

What I see when I look out the window where I work. See those little flags? That’s the South Pole. For real.

P1020976

Where I go when I get altitude sickness because the station is perched on 2 miles of ice.

P1020975

Where I’m about to go sledding on the lunch tray I just stole from the galley.

P1020974

Where I hone my poolsharking abilities. JK. Where I throw darts at books till I find something to read.

P1020973

Where other folks do super fancy sciencey stuff that I really don’t understand. I’m just here to make breakfast.

P1020971

Where we attempt to communicate with extraterrestrials. Or announce to the station what’s for lunch.

P1020970

Where I get swole.

P1020969

What I see when I come inside from -40 degree temperatures… stay tuned for what lies outside the station.

2 thoughts on “A POV Tour of South Pole Station

Leave a Reply

