Even Vegans Love Jase Grimm’s Panisse

P1030479

So I used to be a vegetarian for 6 years, until I found out my grandma used lard in her pie crust, and I wasn’t about to stop eating her pie, so I figured I’d take the opportunity to consume the rest of animal kind while I was at it. But during that half decade or so of eschewing meaty products I picked up some tips, tricks, recipes and a certain amount of empathy (as well as a twisted sense of humor) for my vegetarian friends. Which leads me to the recipe I’m about to share with y’all, for my panisse.


P1030472

Ingredients for 6 servings

2 quarts vegetable stock

4 cups cici bean flour

1 head garlic, minced

1/2 cup olive oil

1 tbs kosher salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

vegetable oil for frying

Preparation

1. Grease a 1/2 sheet pan with olive oil and set aside. In a large pot saute, cook garlic, salt and pepper in olive oil until fragrant, add vegetable stock and bring to a boil.
2. Slowly whisk in cici bean flour, taking care to whisk out any lumps. Reduce heat to medium and cook, whisking constantly until panisse starts to pull away from the side of the pot and the floury taste has cooked out.
3. Pour panisse into greased pan and chill in the refrigerator until firm. Cut into rectangles, squares or cut into penguins or zombies or any other desired shapes.
4. If you care to, you can deep fat fry at 350 for 4-6 minutes, or until golden brown and crisp. Or for a lower fat (and home kitchen friendly) option pan fry in a few tablespoons or oil for 4 minutes each side until golden brown and delicious.
5. Enjoy with pesto, marinara or just a squeeze of lemon juice.
Leave a Reply

